2022 Engage for Change Awards

Every year, the Bonner Center for Civic Engagement celebrates and acknowledges students, faculty, staff, and community leaders working together to make an impact in our communities.

Our fifth annual Engage for Change Awards on Friday, September 16, 2022 featured a keynote address by Roscoe Burnhams, poet laureate of Richmond.

Each honoree received this year's Engage for Change print by Richmond artist Barry O'Keefe.

Engage for Change 2022 Print

Awards and Honorees 

Service for Change Award

This award recognizes an individual or group who has committed to service and relationship building in the Richmond community as a significant part of his/her/their college experience and whose work has contributed to a community's goals. We honor awardees for their ongoing commitment to community engagement and for the spirit in which they have engaged. Awardees have exhibited a dedication to understanding social issues in context, a commitment to valuing the dignity and worth of every individual, a persistent self-awareness and willingness to reflect critically, and a sustained and ethical approach to engagement.

McKenna Dunbar, '23
Annie Wang, '22

Community-Engaged Teaching Award

This award recognizes a faculty member who has consistently demonstrated excellence in community-engaged teaching at the University of Richmond. Community-engaged teaching is undertaken in collaboration with community partners in order to further the learning of all involved and build the capacity of students and community members in order to effect positive change. Excellent community-engaged teaching may connect our students to the greater Richmond community through a variety of modes, including but not limited to service-learning; collaborative projects with community partners; clinical education, student teaching, and internships; and study trips and immersive engagement with community experts.

Maia Linask, Associate Professor of Economics

Community-Engaged Scholarship Award

This award recognizes University faculty member(s) whose scholarly and/or other creative activity emerges from a mutually beneficial partnership with a community and creates new knowledge that contributes to positive social change. Community-engaged scholarship is characterized by its relevance to a faculty member’s expertise, its benefit to the external community, its visibility among community stakeholders, and its contribution to the University's mission.

Karen Kochel, Professor of Psychology
Chuck Mike, Associate Professor of Theatre  

Collaboration for Change Award

This award honors a collaborative community-based partnership between campus and community stakeholders. This award is given to an individual or group who recognizes the importance of authentic relationships and genuine collaboration to affect change. Criteria include: a sustained commitment to an evolving and iterative relationship over time; partnerships that exemplify collaboration as a process of co-creation; a respect for the knowledge and expertise of all stakeholders; and a demonstrated outcome that reflects mutually shared goals emerging from the partnership.

Concerned Citizens of Charles City County (C5), Mary Finley-Brook, Associate Professor of Geography and the Environment, Megan Salters, '23, Sarah Murtaugh, '23, and McKenna Dunbar, '23

Activism for Change Award

This award recognizes an individual or group who has consistently advocated for meaningful action towards social justice in the Richmond region. Awardees have worked persistently to understand the larger context of a social problem and are strategic and intentional in their actions to promote change.

Ryan Doherty, '25

Contribution to the Institution Award

This award recognizes faculty or staff member(s) whose community-engaged teaching, scholarship, and/or service made a significant contribution to the University of Richmond, furthering opportunities for faculty engagement, community collaboration, and the learning and thriving of our students.

Holly Blake, Director, will Program, and Associate Dean for Outreach Education and Development

Bill Coleman Award

Mr. William “Bill” Coleman was the shuttle driver for Spiders serving in the community from 2012-2021 and a beloved colleague whose spirit and dedication advanced student engagement at the University of Richmond. This award recognizes a member of the University’s staff who is dedicated to supporting meaningful engagement with our local and global communities.

Allison Moyer, Director of Landscape Services

Community Educator Award

Educators guide and instruct us, and this role does not rest solely within institutions of higher education. This award honors an individual or organization in the Richmond community who has transformed students, faculty, and/or staff through the sharing of their knowledge and expertise. 

Ana Edwards, Public Historian and Education Programs Manager at the American Civil War Museum