Virginia State Capitol

"We in America do not have government by the majority. We have government by the majority who participate." —Thomas Jefferson

Richmond is the capital of Virginia and administratively separate from the adjoining counties of Chesterfield and Henrico. Virginia's State Capitol building was designed in 1785 by Thomas Jefferson with help from Charles Louis Clerisseau while Jefferson was serving as U.S. Minister to France. On the Capitol grounds, you can also find the Virginia Civil Rights Memorial and the Virginia Women's Monument.

The Virginia General Assembly meets annually, beginning on the second Wednesday in January, for 60 days in even-numbered years and for 30 days in odd-numbered years. The Senate of Virginia and the Virginia House of Delegates, both bodies of the Virginia Legislature, meet in the historic Capitol building.

RVAGOV, the University of Richmond student-led platform for local and state government, highlights information about the current Governor of Virginia, the Virginia General Assembly, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the Senate of Virginia.