Richmond Home

UR Downtown Faculty-in-Residence

UR Downtown serves as a unique resource for faculty who wish to access downtown Richmond for course and research connections. By spending time at UR Downtown, faculty embed themselves in the city with the opportunity to discover resources and form relationships that will provide opportunities for years to come.

UR Downtown’s Faculty-in-Residence Program supports faculty in several ways.

UR Downtown provides the Faculty-in-Residence with:

  • Office space (including printer/copier/fax, telephone, desktop or laptop computer)
  • Parking accommodations
  • Meeting space including access to spaces reserved for UR Downtown staff only
  • Parking vouchers for meeting guests (limited)
  • Funding and administrative support for Faculty-in-Residence facilitated public program

 The Faculty-in-Residence will:

  • Attend a brief UR Downtown orientation
  • Lead at least one public program at UR Downtown related to their research and/or community engagement work
  • Acknowledge their affiliation with UR Downtown during the residency, and in any publication that is produced during the residency
  • Provide feedback on the UR Downtown faculty-in-residence experience
  • Share knowledge of UR Downtown resources with on and off campus constituents

Estimated Budget for 15 weeks



Parking vouchers for meeting guests


Program support funding





Application Process
Interested faculty should submit a letter of intent describing the course and/or research and potential connections to the Greater Richmond area to Dr. Derek Miller (, Assistant Director, Community Relationships and Community-Engaged Learning and Anthony Crenshaw, Director of Operations and Strategic Initiatives ( no less than 30 days of desired residency start date. Decisions will be rendered within 10 business days of receipt unless otherwise communicated.

Past Participants
Dr. Thad Williamson, Jepson School of Leadership Studies (2013)
Dr. Nicole Maurantonio, School of Arts & Sciences (2014)
Dr. Anthony Russell, School of Arts & Sciences (2014)
Dr. Bedelia Richards, School of Arts and Sciences (2018-2019)
Dr. Mariela Méndez, School of Arts and Sciences (2018-2019)